Character Development initiative launched with our Year 7 and 8 students

This week the Character Development initiative was launched with our Year 7 and 8 students.

At Droylsden Academy, we aim to educate our young people by providing them with a wealth of opportunities, both inside the classroom and beyond the classroom. Our ultimate goal is to enable all our students to develop a strong moral code so that they are able to take their place as active citizens, ready to contribute positively to their communities and the wider world.

Our Four Character Pillars

The four Character Pillars are fundamental to our school. We believe all our students should develop the ability to Learn, Lead, Serve and Participate. Therefore we encourage and teach our students to demonstrate strong:

  • Learning - “the acquisition of knowledge or skills through study, experience, or being taught”
  • Leadership – “the action of leading a group of people or an organisation, or the ability to do this”
  • Service – “an act of helpful activity”
  • Participation – “the action of taking part in something”

Year 7 and 8 students will be rewarded throughout their time at Droylsden Academy for demonstrating strong character development. For instance, they may show service by helping others in an organised community event or may participate in a school production or sporting fixture. Likewise, they may demonstrate great learning by making strong academic progress in a range of subjects, or may show leadership by organising and leading other students in an activity.

Every student in year 7 and 8 will soon receive a portfolio for the recording and evidencing of their achievements. Hopefully, by the end of Year 11, this will be an impressive document; one of which your child should be immensely proud. It will also be of significance when your child applies for college places and apprenticeships; and to potential employers when eventually applying for jobs.

Progress will be measured against criteria contained in the portfolio. Under each of the Four Character Pillars there is a menu of suggested activities that can be completed to develop a particular character trait. The range of activities is designed to allow personalisation so that each and every student can be successful in meeting the criteria to show strong character development.

Successful completion of activities related to any of the Four Character Pillars will allow students to earn an enamel badge to wear on their uniform. There are three levels of achievement for each of the Character Pillars, with each one having gradually more challenging completion criteria:

  • Level 1 = Apprentice (beginner)
  • Level 2 = Graduate (developed)
  • Level 3 = Master (advanced)

Enamel badges will be awarded to successful students throughout the school year in formal assemblies and at regular celebration evenings to which parents and carers will be invited.

A copy of the criteria and further information on Character Development can be found in the 'Learning' section of the Academy website.

If you have any questions or would like further information, please do not hesitate to contact Mr S Jackson.

Share this post

Droylsden Academy
Manor Road, Droylsden,
Manchester M43 6QD
T: 0161 301 7600
F: 0161 301 7601