Learning in the Curriculum

Key Stage 3 (Year 7, 8 and 9)

The National Curriculum is covered and exceeded at Key Stage 3 with the following subjects taught:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • History
  • Geography
  • MFL (French or Spanish)
  • Technology
  • Art
  • Computing
  • Music
  • Drama
  • Dance
  • PE/Sport
  • Religious Studies
  • Technology and Art are taught on a rotational basis to enable all students to experience a variety of subject areas including: Food and Nutrition, Computing and Art.

On entry to the Academy students are placed in classes based on their KS2 data.

Band and set changes can be made at any time during the academic year in consultation with Curriculum Leaders and Senior Leaders.

Students’ sets and bands are then re-examined and changes made according to progress from KS2, current teacher assessment data and other relevant data. 

Key Stage 4 (Years 10 and 11)

The curriculum in Years 10 and 11 gives students more choice but within an overall framework that ensures they enjoy a broad and balanced education. All students follow a common core of subjects and supplement this with option choices. A structured guidance programme ensures that option choices meet the needs of the individual student.

Core Subjects at KS4: These are the subjects that all students study at Droylsden Academy:

  • English Language and Literature
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Core PE

PSHE is taught through our Pastoral Programme which includes sessions in Learning Tutorial, assemblies and drop down days. Our termly themes are carefully chosen to promote the spiritual, moral, cultural, mental and personal development of our students and there is also a comprehensive Careers Education Information and Guidance Programme for all students. 

Option subjects include the following (these are subject to change each year and are dependent on the needs and wishes of students):

History, Geography, Religious Studies, French, Spanish, Computer Science, Drama, Art & Design, Photography, PE/Sport, Performing Arts, Music, Dance, Food and Nutrition, Health & Social Care, Triple Science and ICT

All subjects at KS4 are taken at Level 2: GCSE or BTEC

Students at Droylsden Academy are encouraged to complete The English Baccalaureate. This is awarded to any student who secures good GCSE passes (5 – 9) in ALL of the following subjects:

  • English Language or Literature
  • Maths
  • Science or Computer Science
  • A Modern Foreign Language
  • A Humanities subject (History or Geography)